What is GATE ?

What is GATE ?

The Indian Institute of Sciences (IISc) and Seven Indian Institutes of technology (IITs at Bombay, Delhi, Guwahati, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Madras and Roorkey) jointly administer the conduct of Gate. The operations related to gate in each of the 8 zones are managed by a zonal gate office at the IITs. The organizing institute is responsible for the end to end process and coordinate amongst the administering institute.

GATE is conducted on the behalf of the National Coordination Board , Department of higher education , Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), Govt. of India.

The Zones and the Corresponding administrative institutes are:

Zone1- IISc Bangalore.

Zone2– IIT Bombay.

Zone3– IIT Delhi.

Zone4– IIT Guwahati.

Zone5- IIT Kanpur.

Zone6– IIT Kharagpur.

Zone7– IIT Madras.

Zone8– IIT Roorkee.


The GATE Examination is conducted every year in month of January and February